When We Rise (television)

When We Rise (television) Eight-part mini-series on ABC, from Feb. 27 to Mar. 3, 2017, which chronicles the real-life personal and political struggles, set-backs, and triumphs of a diverse family of LGBT men and women who helped pioneer one of the last legs of the U.S. Civil Rights movement, from its turbulent infancy in the 20th century to the once unfathomable successes of today. Created by Dustin Lance Black and directed by Black, Gus Van Sant, Dee Rees, and Thomas Schlamme. Stars Guy Pearce (Cleve Jones), Mary-Louise Parker (Roma Guy), Rachel Griffiths (Diane), Michael K. Williams (Ken Jones), Ivory Aquino (Cecilia Chung). Portraying four leads as younger are Austin McKenzie (Cleve), Emily Skeggs (Roma), Jonathan Majors (Ken), Fiona Dourif (Diane). From ABC Studios.