In the Goosebumps episode "Cuckoo Clock of Doom," actor Ana Yi Puig holds a baseball bat and crouches between two cars. Puig and the cars are covered in green goo.

New Goosebumps Series Coming to Disney+ and Hulu This October

By Zach Johnson

On Friday the 13th, Disney+ and Hulu are giving audiences goosebumps in more ways than one! Goosebumps, the chilling new series inspired by R.L. Stine's worldwide bestselling Scholastic book series of the same name, will debut on both streaming platforms on Friday, October 13. From Disney Branded Television and Sony Pictures Television, the 10-part series will launch with a five-episode drop as part of Disney+'s "Hallowstream" and Hulu's "Huluween" celebrations, with subsequent new episodes streaming weekly. The first two episodes will also air October 13 on Freeform as part of its "31 Nights of Halloween" event.

"R.L. Stine's Goosebumps franchise is a pop culture phenomenon that holds a special place in the hearts of people of all ages," says Ayo Davis, president, Disney Branded Television. "We are delighted to bring this spooky new series to audiences everywhere in a big way on Disney+ and Hulu, which we hope will not only captivate new audiences with its elevated thrills and chills, but also lifelong fans nostalgic for the stories that are a staple of their generation."

Plunging viewers into a world of mystery and suspense, the series follows a group of five high school students as they embark on a shadowy and twisted journey to investigate the tragic passing three decades earlier of a teen named Harold Biddle—while also unearthing dark secrets from their parents' past. Goosebumps stars Justin Long and Rachael Harris, as well as newcomers Zack Morris, Isa Briones, Miles McKenna, Ana Yi Puig, and Will Price.

Published by Scholastic, Goosebumps is one of the bestselling book series of all time, with more than 400 million books in print in 32 languages. The new television series draws on elements from five of the most popular middle grade books: Say Cheese and Die!, The Haunted Mask, The Cuckoo Clock of Doom, Go Eat Worms!, and Night of the Living Dummy.

Nicholas Stoller and Rob Letterman developed the Goosebumps series and serve as executive producers alongside Hilary Winston, Neal H. Moritz, Scholastic Entertainment's Iole Lucchese, Pavun Shetty, Conor Welch, Scholastic Entertainment's Caitlin Friedman, Erin O'Malley, and Kevin Murphy. James Eagan and Nick Adams are the co-executive producers.

Can't wait to watch? Through Wednesday, September 20, new and returning customers can subscribe to Disney+ Basic (with ads) for $1.99/month for three months by visiting Disney+.